Thursday, March 01, 2007

The First Florida Book Awards

The winners of the first Florida Book Awards, for books published in 2006, were announced this morning. These awards are the cooperative effort of a dozen or more Florida cultural, humanities, arts, educational, and literary organizations who intend to make it an annual event. There are seven categories, and the basic rules are that the authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the non-fiction category where the book must be about Florida. And the gold medal winners are:

General Fiction: Whiteman, by Tony D'Souza

Young Adult Literature: The Real Question, by Adrian Fogelin

Children's Literature: The Somebodies, by N.E. Bode (Julianna Baggott)

Nonfiction: The Swamp, by Michael Grunwald

Poetry: My Psychic, by James Kimbrell

Popular Fiction: Escape Clause, by James O. Born

Spanish Language: La Isla De Los Amores Infinitos, by Daina Chaviano

Complete list of winners

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.